For Christ’s Sake Imitate Him

But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us. -Romans 5:8

Oh! could I fetch the dying Jesus here, and let Him speak to you! My own tongue is tied this morning, but I would make His blood, His scars, and His wounds speak. Poor dumb mouths, I bid each of them plead in His behalf. How would Jesus, standing here, show you His hands this morning! “My friends,” He would say, “hehold Me! These hands were pierced for you; and look ye here at this My side. It was opened as the fountain of your salvation. See My feet; there entered the cruel nails. Each of these bones were dislocated for your sake. These eyes gushed with torrents of tears. This head was crowned with thorns. These cheeks were smitten; this hair was plucked; My body became the centre and focus of agony. I hung quivering in the burning sun; and all for you, my people. And will ye not love Me now? I bid you be like Me. Is there any fault in Me? Oh! no. Ye believe that I am fairer than ten thousand fairs, and lovelier than ten thousand loves. Have I injured you? Have I not rather done all for your salvation? And do I not sit at My Father’s throne, and e’en now intercede on your behalf? If ye love Me,”-Christian, hear that word; let the sweet syllables ring forever in your ears, like the prolonged sounding of silver-toned bells;-“if ye love Me, if ye love Me, keep My commandments.” Oh, Christian, let that “if” be put to thee this morning. “If ye love Me.” Glorious Redeemer! is it an “if” at all? Thou precious, bleeding Lamb, can there be an “if?” What, when I see Thy blood gushing from Thee; is it an “if?” Yes, I weep to say it is an “if.” Oft my thoughts make it “if,” and oft my words make it “if.” But yet methinks my soul feels it is not “if,” either.

“Not to mine eyes is light so dear,
Nor friendship half so sweet.”

~ C.H. Spurgeon

https://www.blueletterbible.org/Comm/spurgeon_charles/sermons/0021.cfm

3 thoughts on “For Christ’s Sake Imitate Him

Your comment

