The Center of My Soul

Lord, thou hast been our dwelling place in all generations. -Psalm 90:1

It is natural that men should love their homes; it is spiritual that they should love them better still. In our homes we find those to whom we must and ever shall be most attached. There our best friends and kindred dwell…We wish to feel-and every Christian man will feel-with regard to his own family, that they are the warp and woof of his own nature, that he has become a part and portion of them; and there he centers his affection…Christian man, is God your habitation in that sense? Have you given your whole soul to God? Do you feel you can bring your whole heart to Him, and say, “O, God! I love from my soul; with the most impassioned earnestness I love thee.

“The dearest idol I have known-
Whate’er that idol be-
Help me to tear it from its throne,
And worship only Thee!”

O God! though I sometimes wander, yet I love Thee in my wanderings, and my heart is fixed on Thee. What though the creature doth beguile me, I detest that creature; it is to me as the apple of Sodom. Thou art the master of my soul, the emperor of my heart; no vice-regent, but King of kings. My spirit is fixed on thee as the center of my soul.

“Thou art the sea of love
Where all my pleasures roll,
The circle where my passions move;
The center of my soul.”

~ C.H. Spurgeon

https://www.blueletterbible.org/Comm/spurgeon_charles/sermons/0046.cfm

4 thoughts on “The Center of My Soul

Your comment

