Longing for More of Our LORD

O taste and see that the LORD is good: blessed is the man that trusteth in Him…they that seek the LORD shall not want any good thing. -Psalm 34:8, 10

“Now, freed from sin I walk at large,
My Jesus’ blood’s my full discharge.”

I ask any one here who has an assurance that he is a pardoned man, thoroughly justified and complete in Christ-are you not seeking the Lord? “Oh yes,” you say, “I thirst, I long to know more of Him; I feel that all I have ever known of Him is like the whispering of the sea in the shell, while the awful roar of the sea itself has not yet reached mine ears. I have heard the whisperings of Christ in some little mercy, and I have heard His bounties sing of bottomless, eternal, unchangeable love; but oh! I long to plunge into the sea itself, to bathe myself in the broad ocean of His infinite generosity and love to me.” No Christian ever fancies that he knows enough of his Master; there is no Christian who has found the Lord who does not desire to be better acquainted with Him. “Lord, I will follow thee whithersoever Thou goest,” is the cry of the man who has had his sins forgiven. He sitteth down at the feet of Jesus, and looketh up to Him, and saith, “Master, teach me more; I am a little child; thou art a great instructor; oh! I long to love and learn more of Thee.” He is ever seeking the Lord; the promise to him is, “They that seek the Lord shall not want any good thing.” ~ C.H. Spurgeon

https://www.blueletterbible.org/Comm/spurgeon_charles/sermons/0065.cfm

One thought on “Longing for More of Our LORD

Your comment

