Bought with His Blood

Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; you were bought at a price. Therefore glorify God with your body. – 1 Corinthians 6:19-20

Now, our blessed Shepherd esteems His sheep because they cost Him His blood.In the face of every saint the Savior sees, as in a glass, the memorial of His bloody sweat in Gethsemane, and His agonies at Golgotha. “Ye are not your own, for ye are bought with a price.” That stands as a call to duty, but it is at the same time a consolation, for if He has bought me, He will have me. Bought with such a price, He will not like to lose me, nor suffer any foe to take me out of His hand. Think not that Christ will suffer those to perish for whom He died. To me the very suggestion seems to draw near to the verge of blasphemy. If He has bought me with His blood, I cannot conceive He cares nothing for me, will take no further concern about me, or will suffer my soul to be cast into the pit. If He has suffered in my stead, where is justice gone that the substitute should bear my guilt, and I should bear it too? And where is mercy fled, that God should execute twice the punishment for one offense! Nay, beloved, those whom He hath bought with His blood are His, and He will keep them.~ C.H. Spurgeon

http://www.ccel.org/ccel/spurgeon/sermons17.xxviii.html

 

3 thoughts on “Bought with His Blood

Your comment

