Securely Established

He brought me up also out of a horrible pit, out of the miry clay, and set my feet upon a rock, and established my steps. -Psalm 40:2

You see the fortress standing on a high rock, up which the clouds themselves can scarcely climb, and up whose precipices the assault cannot be carried, and the armed cannot travel, for the besieged laugh at them from their eminence. So is our God a sure defence; and we shall not be moved if He hath “set our feet upon a rock, and established our goings.”…Many a giant rock is a source of admiration from its elevation; for on the summit we can see the world outspread below, like some small map; we mark the river or broadly spreading stream, as if it were a vein of silver inlaid in emerald. We discover the nations beneath our feet, “like drops in a bucket,” and the islands are “very little things” in the distance, while the sea itself seems but a basin of water, held in the hand of a mighty giant.

“He is my rock.” How glorious a thought! How safe am I, and how secure…I shall not walk upon a slippery foundation, but I shall tread on Him who cannot betray my feet; and I may sing…”He is my rock, and there is no unrighteousness in Him.”~ C.H. Spurgeon

https://www.blueletterbible.org/Comm/spurgeon_charles/sermons/0080.cfm

One thought on “Securely Established

  1. Pingback: Securely Established — He Hath Said | Talmidimblogging

Your comment

