Providential Mercies

For as the rain comes down, and the snow from heaven, and returns not there, but waters the earth, and makes it bring forth and bud, that it may give seed to the sower, and bread to the eater -Isaiah 55:10

Providential mercies are wholly from the Lord. It is true that rain falls from heaven, and waters the earth, and “maketh it bring forth and bud, that there may be seed, for the sower, and bread for the eater;” but out of whose hand cometh the rain, and from whose fingers do the dew drops distill? It is true, the sun shines, and makes the plants grow, and bud, and bring forth the blossom, and its heat ripens the fruit upon the tree; but who gives the sun its light, and who scatters the genial heat from it? It is true, I work and toil; this brow sweats; these hands are weary; I cast myself upon my bed, and there I rest, but I do not “sacrifice to mine own drag,” nor do I ascribe my preservation to my own might. Who makes these sinews strong? who makes these lungs like iron, and who makes these nerves of steel? “God only is the rock of my salvation.” He only is the salvation of my body and the salvation of my soul. Do I feed on the word? That word would be no food for me unless the Lord made it food for my soul, and helped me to feed upon it. Do I live on the manna which comes down from heaven? What is that manna, but Jesus Christ Himself incarnate, whose body and whose blood I eat and drink. Am I continually receiving fresh increase of might? Where do I gather my might? My salvation is of Him: without Him I can do nothing. As a branch cannot bring forth fruit except it abide in the vine, no more can I except I abide in Him.~ C.H. Spurgeon

https://www.blueletterbible.org/Comm/spurgeon_charles/sermons/0080.cfm

3 thoughts on “Providential Mercies

Your comment

