God Knows

You scrutinize my path and my lying down, And are intimately acquainted with all my ways. Even before there is a word on my tongue, Behold, O LORD, You know it all.…-Psalm 139:3-4

Prayerful man, prayerful woman, here is a consolation-God sees you: and if He can see you, surely He can hear you. Why, we can often hear people, when we cannot see them. If God is so near to us, and if His voice is like the thunder, surely His ears are as good as His eyes, and He will be sure to answer us. Perhaps you cannot say a word when you pray. Never mind, God does not want to hear; He can tell what you mean even by seeing you. “There,” says the Lord, “is a child of Mine in prayer. He says not a word; but do you see that tear rolling down his cheek? do you hear that sigh?” Oh! mighty God, Thou canst see both tear and sigh; Thou canst read desire when desire hath not clothed itself in words…Ah, God, when I cannot pray with words, I will throw myself flat on my face, and I will groan my prayer; and if I cannot groan it I will sigh it; and if I cannot sigh it I will wish it: and when these eye-strings break, and when death has sealed these lips, I will enter heaven with a prayer, which Thou wilt not hear but which Thou wilt see-the prayer of my inmost spirit, when my heart and my flesh fail me, that God may be the strength of my life and portion for ever. ~ C.H. Spurgeon

https://www.blueletterbible.org/Comm/spurgeon_charles/sermons/0085.cfm

3 thoughts on “God Knows

Your comment

