Sweet Affliction!

I sought the LORD, and he heard me, and delivered me from all my fears. -Psalm 34:4

I witness that there is no fellowship with Christ so near and sweet, as that which comes to us when we are in deep trials. Then the Master unbosoms Himself, and takes His child, not upon His knee, but to His very heart, and bids him lay his head upon His beating bosom. Christ will reveal His secrets to you when the world is against you, and trials surround you. “The secret of the Lord is with them that fear Him; and He will shew them His covenant;” but they shall never have such discoveries of that secret and that covenant, as when they most need it, in the darkest and most trying times. There are special loves, special trials, special visits, and special fellowship.

And soon you shall have special deliverance. In days to come you will talk about these trials. You will say, I fretted myself, and worried over it, but oh, if I could have seen the end as well as the beginning, I should have said-

“Sweet affliction! sweet affliction!
Thus to bring my Saviour near.”

I tell you, you will sit yet under your own vine, and under your own fig-tree, and talk to the poor tried saints, and say, “Do not be cast down, for I cried unto the Lord and He heard me, and delivered me from all my fears.” ~ C.H. Spurgeon

https://www.blueletterbible.org/Comm/spurgeon_charles/sermons/0585.cfm

12 thoughts on “Sweet Affliction!

  1. He is close to the broken-hearted! He came to me when I despaired of life and brought me His resurrected Life! thank God! I praise and honor and thank and worship and bless and lift high the Name above all names, Christ Jesus and our Abba Father!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear heart-why do you break the 2nd Commandment with that blasphemous picture of man’s idea of Jesus? And then you ask readers to worship at it by saying, I pray that every time you see this picture you will be reminded of Jesus and His calling to you as His shining servant in a dark, dark world.

      Please, God has never given man permission to draw a picture (make an image) to bow down to. Please reconsider what you have done because you are causing others to bow to another Jesus.

      May God bless you in all that you do for His Kingdom, by His power and for His glory, amen!~

      Like

      • Dear friend, it is never my intention to have people worship the picture that you’ve mentioned. I am well aware of the second commandment and what I wrote is not telling people to give homage to the picture but to rather remember that we have been called to share the Light Of His Truth, which is the Bible. Please check out the sermons, Bible studies, stories, and other things on the blog. You will see that it is all about worshiping Jesus and not someone’s idea of what He may look like.
        Thank you for your comment and may God bless you!

        Like

      • Precious child of God, you are doing that! Everytime one has this blasphemous image in their mind and pray to Him or think of Him they are bowing to another Jesus. Be careful, the enemy of our souls is very sly! Perhaps you need to study and research where this image came from. It is an unholy one, I gaurantee you.

        Like

  2. I really don’t wish to argue the point. But I ask simply that you’ll please check out the blog for yourself. Everything in it is for the glory of Jesus (the One we can’t see). I also ask that you’ll consider that we have been advised, even by Charles Spurgeon to meditate on the cross of Christ. If you do that you will certainly have a picture of Jesus in your mind. Does that make it blaspheous? I don’t think so. Do you worship it? Of course not.

    That’s all I’ve got to say on this matter. May God bless you, sweet child of God!
    Hope to meet you in the Kingdom.

    Like

Your comment

