Did He Die for You?

Verily, verily, I say unto you, he that hears My word, and believes on Him that sent Me, has everlasting life, and shall not come into condemnation; but is passed from death unto life. -John 5:24

Remember that the one thing needful for eternal life is trusting in the Lord Jesus Christ. I know you will tell me you cannot be perfect. No, I know you cannot. You will say, “I have many sins; I have done much that is wrong.” It is true, most true, but he who believeth in the Lord Jesus Christ has his sins forgiven. You know the story-Christ came down from heaven and took His people’s sins upon His own shoulders. When God came forth to smite the sinner, Justice said, “Where is he?” and Christ came and stood in the sinner’s place, and God’s sword went through the Saviour’s heart. Why? That it might never cut nor wound the heart of those for whom Jesus died. Did He die for you? He did, if you believe in Him; your faith will be to you the evidence that Christ was substitute for you, and oh! if Christ suffered for you, you cannot suffer. If God punished Christ He will never punish you. If Jesus Christ paid your debts, you are free. Before God’s throne today, if thou believest, thou art as clear as the angels in heaven. Thou are a saved soul if thou art resting upon the atonement of Christ, and thou mayst go thy way and sing-

“Now, freed from sin, I walk at large,
The Saviour’s blood’s my full discharge;
At His dear feet my soul I lay,
A sinner saved, and homage pay.”

May God bring you to faith for Jesus’ sake. Amen. ~ C.H. Spurgeon

https://www.blueletterbible.org/Comm/spurgeon_charles/sermons/0585.cfm

3 thoughts on “Did He Die for You?

Your comment

