I Trust in Jesus, Sink or Swim

Yet I will rejoice in the LORD, I will joy in the God of my salvation. -Habakkuk 3:18

Salvation is of the LORD – Jonah 2:9

You must be sound in the faith if you have learned to spell this sentence- “Salvation is of the Lord;” and if you feel it in your soul you will not be proud; you can not be; you will cast every thing at His feet, confessing that you have done nothing, save what He has helped you to do and therefore the glory must be where the salvation is. If you believe this you will not be distrustful. You will say, “My salvation does not depend on my faith, but on the Lord; my keeping does not depend on myself, but on God who keepeth me; my being brought to heaven rests not now in my own hands, but in the hands of God;” you will, when doubts and fears prevail, fold your arms, look upward and say,

“And now my eye of faith is dim,
I trust in Jesus, sink or swim.”

If you can keep this in your mind you may always be joyful. He can have no cause for trouble who knows and feels that his salvation is of God…

“He that has helped me bears me through,
And makes me more than conqueror too.”

Salvation resteth not on this poor arm, else should I despair, but on the arm of yon Omnipotent-that arm on which the pillars of the heavens do lean. “Whom should I fear ? The Lord is my strength and my life; of whom shall I be afraid?” ~ C.H. Spurgeon

https://www.blueletterbible.org/Comm/spurgeon_charles/sermons/0131.cfm

3 thoughts on “I Trust in Jesus, Sink or Swim

Your comment

