They Hated Me Without A Cause

They hated Me without a cause.- John 15:25

It is usually understood, that the quotation our Saviour here refers to is to be found in the 35th Psalm, at the 19th verse, where David says, speaking of himself immediately and of the Saviour prophetically, “Let not them who are mine enemies rejoice over me, neither let them wink with the eye that hate me without a cause.” Our Saviour refers to that as being applicable to Himself, and thus He really tells us, in effect, that many of the Psalms are Messianic, or refer to the Messiah.

No being was ever more lovely than the Saviour; it would seem almost impossible not to have affection for Him. Certainly at first sight it would seem far more difficult to hate Him than to love Him. And yet, loveable as He was, yea, “altogether lovely,” no being so early met with hatred, and no creature ever endured such a continual persecution as He had to suffer.

And He came on earth to die, that sinners might not die. Was that a cause of hatred? Ought I to hate the Saviour, because He came to quench the flames of hell for me? Should I despise Him who allowed His Father’s flaming sword to be quenched in His own vital blood? Shall I look with indignation upon the substitute who takes my sin and griefs upon Him, and carries my sorrows? Shall I hate and despise the man who loved me better than He loved Himself-who loved me so much that He visited the gloomy grave for my salvation? Are these the causes of hatred? Surely His errand was one that ought to have made us sing His praise for ever, and join the harps of angels in their rapturous songs.

“They hated Me without a cause.”~ C.H. Spurgeon

https://www.blueletterbible.org/Comm/spurgeon_charles/sermons/0089.cfm

 

3 thoughts on “They Hated Me Without A Cause

Your comment

