Happy Are You

Truly, truly, I tell you, you will weep and wail while the world rejoices. You will grieve, but your grief will turn to joy.… – John 16:20

Your sorrow shall be turned into joy. It shall be good of some of them today. God will make your present sorrows to be turned into joys. Do I address one person who has been persecuted for Christ’s sake? Do I speak with one young person whose parents treat her ill because she follows Jesus? Brother, sister, your sorrow is turned into joy, even now, for, if you be persecuted for righteousness’ sake, happy are you. Not, happy shall you be, but happy are you. Even now you have a great honor put upon you: you are counted worthy not only to believe on the Lord Jesus but to suffer for His sake, At the thought of Him, then, that sorrow is turned into joy.

Perhaps I address some who are under very severe afflictions. Beloved brother, if the Lord shall reveal Himself in your afflictions, you will be very sorry to be rid of them; you will feel that they are even now turned into joy. Constantly, in reading Rutherford’s letters you meet with the expression of his wonder that his enemies should be so kind to him as they were. He speaks in a sort of holy sarcasm. They banished him, sent him away from where he was accustomed to preach the Gospel, but he said, “I find my Lord lives here and they have sent me into His arms. They would not let me preach,” he says, “and now my Lord does make up for my dumb Sabbaths, for, whereas I may not speak, He speaks to me and cheers my soul,” and it seems from his letters that, the more his enemies persecuted him, the more deep, the more high his joy became. ~ C.H. Spurgeon

https://www.gracegems.org/Spurgeon/from_sorrow_to_joy.htm

 

One thought on “Happy Are You

Your comment

