Another Tribe of Bowmen Silenced

…I am not ashamed: for I know whom I have believed, and am persuaded that He is able to keep that which I have committed unto Him…  -2 Timothy 1:12

Some of you have been much molested by another tribe of bowmen, who a great deal trouble me at times, namely, the archers called doubts and fears. These sad villains will, if they can, attack every soul that desires to enjoy the means of grace and the grace of the means. “Ah!” says Satan, even to God’s child, “remember your slips and your failings! Recollect your shortcomings, your slackness in prayer, your indifference to God’s glory, your hardness of heart! How can you think of receiving a promise?” Just as you are going to grasp some divine word out of your Bible and suck out its honey, it seems as though something smote your hand, and you were obliged to drop the text altogether, lest you should be acting presumptuously. No hymn of joyful assurance suited you, but you began moaning out-

“‘Tis a point I long to know,
Oft it causes anxious thought,
Do I love the Lord or no?
Am I His or am I not?”

It is poor work coming to the Lord’s table when you are afraid that you are none of His; it is wretched work even listening to the minister when you dare not claim the precious things which are delivered; yes, and even the word of God is a comfortless book when you cannot feel that you have a saving interest in its promises. Yet I thank God, when our faith is in exercise, and our hope is clear, we can see our interest in Christ; we come to Him just as we came at first, and cast ourselves wholly upon Him. Then we no longer fear the archers, but are rid of every fear; we “know whom we have believed, and are persuaded that He is able to keep that which we have committed unto Him;” and, no longer disturbed by our enemies, we sit by the well’s brink, and are refreshed. ~ C.H. Spurgeon

https://www.blueletterbible.org/Comm/spurgeon_charles/sermons/0763.cfm